how i spend all my time on youtube

During yesterday’s snow day, I found myself using my newfound free time wandering through my favorite thing on YouTube: the COLORS channel. COLORS, a music platform that blends music with visual art. Each of their videos features a live performance of a new artists, with a particular emphasis on R&B and jazz. Watching each video, I imagine that this is what synesthesia feels like – the uniform colors in the back are mesmerizing. In class, we learn to assume that each decision is purposeful: with COLORS, it feels like there is an intentional reciprocity in the way the background ties in with the aura of each song. I think of the flat blue-green in Billie Eilish’s ‘idontwannabeyouanymore’ that echoes the cool sadness of the lyrics. Tom Misch’s ‘It Runs Through Me’, and the bright mustard that complements the bright jazz spirit of his music. Snoh Alegra’s nude pink, and the broken-heartedness of ‘Fool for You’. I even stumbled across a Goldlink song called Justine’s Interlude (loved it, but not biased at aaaallll).

I’m sure a lot of people have already discovered (and fell in love with) this channel, but if you haven’t: check it out.

Leave a comment